The Everyday Holistic

Balance the Mind, Body, and Spirit

An Active Mind Is A Happy Mind

Leave a comment

I have been a bad, bad blogger, but I have been a great SAD survivor!

I have always believed that keeping my mind strong and busy would keep me from falling into the trenches of the depression and reclusive behavior that comes with SAD. So this year, I went as far as making a plan. I have studied holistic and alternative health in a course type situation for quite a few years now. But unfortunately and fortunately, I found my perfect place first try. But once I completed their courses, including the doctorate…yep, go big or go home!, I was at a loss. The other schools I have taken courses at since, including another doctorate program, they have lacked greatly in comparison. Could be the course, or could be that I have had such fantastic exposure to various holistic therapies now.

But it is just that, I have done more extensive research in areas that I selected for my thesis’s and dissertation and only have ‘exposure’ to and historical data on so many other fantastic holistic therapies. So for my 2014-2015 hate for winter topic, I chose aromatherapy.

I started trolling the web for all things aromatherapy, but I trolled with caution due to the recent media attention brought to aromatherapy and the use of essential oils. I clicked and clicked and clicked. Ok, actually I touched and swiped as I use a Surface, but clicking sounds better. I eventually found Simply Aroma, a new essential oil party company with an awesome diffuser and a great deal to get one. This kept popping up in my searches, so a little more investigation and I ordered my kit, still thinking…cool diffuser šŸ˜Š

So, now I have this companies oils, and still haveĀ over 100 bottles of oils from other retail companies. I am no expert, but 1. I think their oils are better, they have better smell than the same oil in a different brand, to me anyways. 2. They have blends that are different from the usual blends that other companies have. So many companies have theĀ same oils, but with different names. Their blends are different, and I like that. 3. Ingestion, a hot topic, they take a guarded stance on ingestion. I like that, it made me think, made me experiment, and inevitability…I tried two suggested ingestion methods. The science made sense to me. The experimentation, my own experiments of comparisons and visual proving, made sense to me. Now 2 weeks of use, these oils are amazing.

So I have been busy. In addition to reading and experimenting, I have been product making. Ā Menthols Sticks, lip balms, lotions, roll-ons, soaps, clay diffusers, and all new oils incorporated.

It may be February, it may be cold, but I am happy and warm with enthusiasm. http://www.simplyaroma.com/holisticdeb

Author: holisticdeb

Holistic Health, what does it mean? How hard is it to do? Does it cost a lot of money? To me, it means taking responsibility for your life and working towards balance. It can be hard, as hard as you make it. Everything costs money, how much is up to you. Sometimes the only cost is time. My dream is to teach how to balance life by encompassing varied areas of holistic health and bring the magic of alternative therapies to others.

Leave a Reply

