The Everyday Holistic

Balance the Mind, Body, and Spirit

Self-Study Can Be Fulfilling

Leave a comment

For many reasons I won’t go into, I did not go to college after high school. Today, as an honor graduate with good discipline, that seems unlikely. But this was the early 1990’s, a different time in a city much smaller than it is now. After making several decisions that turned out to be wrong when it came to my personal future, I was finally happily married and finding the old me that had been hiding inside for just over a decade.

In a new time with new technology and new options, I found the world of online distance learning and in turn, an interest and talent I didn’t know was there. I found a school with knowledgeable and enthusiastic instructors. One in particular made every opportunity to me available to go all the way through the dissertation process, which included developing my own clinical trial. A very scary, but rewarding process. Once I finished the courses, I was lost. I ventured on to the sister school and completed a certification course. One more certification was available, but similar to what I had just completed. I found another school and entered an alternative clinical doctorate program. They transferred many of my previous courses for credit, including accepting my existing dissertation. I found many errors in the courses, and even the books, there was no motivation or enthusiasm from the instructors, and there was no connection with other students. I didn’t even know if others actually existed. My motivation went ‘poof!’ Most recently I obtained access to a short course as part of a package I purchased. After trial and error of the quiz process (trial and error which affected my grade which was necessary due to lack of instructional information), waiting up to a week for answers to a question or grading of a quiz to be able to move on to the next section, I found this course to be informational, but minimal in information and the process was frustrating. Maybe as it was a free course or maybe too many course participants at one time affected the performance of the instructors, but without seeing samples of the advanced courses, I am weary of investing several thousand dollars to enter into a contract with this school. But I love learning!

What I know is that most areas of holistic health are not licensed in the United States.  What I believe is that attending a ‘school’ gives credibility to your knowledge. But I have 2 Doctorate degrees, how much more credibility do I really need? So it’s time for me to put my self-discipline into play and start teaching myself. And I am enjoying it. I read books and if I find them sub-standard quality I either finish them to know what methods to question, or I put them to the junk pile. I enjoyed the report process where I got to choose my own reading material and then do a book report. I do not need to be part of a learning institution to do this.

Self-study can be rewarding and fulfilling. I can invest in me, rather than in others to tell me what I already know how to do. You the inspiration for your own growth and learning. Go to Google type in a word of interest, take the results and keep breaking it down until you isolate your topic, then go for it! Happy learning 😊

Author: holisticdeb

Holistic Health, what does it mean? How hard is it to do? Does it cost a lot of money? To me, it means taking responsibility for your life and working towards balance. It can be hard, as hard as you make it. Everything costs money, how much is up to you. Sometimes the only cost is time. My dream is to teach how to balance life by encompassing varied areas of holistic health and bring the magic of alternative therapies to others.

Leave a Reply

