The Everyday Holistic

Balance the Mind, Body, and Spirit

A Good Feeling

Leave a comment

I had been a little down lately. It’s hard when you really feel bad for a situation a person is in and even though you do not really have the money yourself, you really want to help. I am a member of a local Facebook page where people post things to give away or people can post their needs. It has just started getting cold and the last couple of cold fronts have really dropped the temperatures here and it is really affecting some.  Well, since it is Facebook, I peeked at the profiles.

And here is where I wrote and deleted my feelings as to why I have not reached out. The bottom line is priorities, put your needs before your wants; and know the difference between a want and a need.

But yesterday I was at work, not a regular work day, we were painting, etc. And a lady walked in. Just a normal looking lady, but she suddenly became a little sad looking when I asked if I could help her. She said she knew it was a business, but she was having a car problem, didn’t have her cell, and asked if she could make a local call. I said sure, and she continued apologizing. The person, that turned out to be her 18 year old son, did not answer. Clearly upset, I asked if she lived close by, about 13 miles. If her car was in the parking lot, it was. What her car was doing. She said it is so embarrassing, she was closing up their summer home about 2 hours away and she left her wallet and phone there and didn’t have enough gas to get home. I pulled $20 from my purse and put it down in front of her. She was so thankful, and wanted to make sure I would not be in trouble doing that. I wanted to make sure she was settled to continue on her day, so I introduced her to my coworkers. We learned her name and talked for a moment, and she began laughing with us. When she left, she said she would be back to repay me. Whether she returns or not, I hope it made her day get a little bit better than it was before she walked through our office door.

This lady probably has more than I do, and possibly never had to ask for help before. But there was a reason she pulled into our lot and walked through our door, and maybe I was that reason was me. I have soul searched since this need to help has started to consume me and I think it is due to some of the family voids I have within myself. Soon, I will share these voids with you.

Author: holisticdeb

Holistic Health, what does it mean? How hard is it to do? Does it cost a lot of money? To me, it means taking responsibility for your life and working towards balance. It can be hard, as hard as you make it. Everything costs money, how much is up to you. Sometimes the only cost is time. My dream is to teach how to balance life by encompassing varied areas of holistic health and bring the magic of alternative therapies to others.

Leave a Reply

