The Everyday Holistic

Balance the Mind, Body, and Spirit

Am I In A Rut, Or Do I Just Need To Relax?

Leave a comment

Why is it so hard to be happy? We do it all the time in life. We see those that should want for nothing in life throwing it all in the toilet and we wonder, “What is wrong with them? Why are THEY not happy?” And on our ‘trivial’ levels…we do it too.

I have been considering no longer doing the craft shows at the holidays, etc after this season. This is only my second year of doing it this big, and I do have new stuff, but my main items are lip balms and lotions. I have 3 herbs I infuse for lips and 4 herbs for body. I have a couple of additions I make for a body lotion to ‘boost’ it. But I felt like I was ‘mass producing’ even though I still mix by hand in small batches. I felt like I was not doing my best because I wasn’t changing things.

Then yesterday, a lady that received a gift of one of my lotions told me she was having carpal tunnel type pains in her wrist. She knew my lotion had chamomile infused in it, a known anti-inflammatory herb. She said in minutes she felt relief…MINUTES!!! I think it was a combination of the herbs I infuse as topically St. John’s Wort is beneficial for pain, bruising, etc., but it is not widely known for it’s topical benefits.

But it made me realize that herbs have a purpose. And I was fortunate enough to find a fabulous combination herbs early in my remedy making practice. I don’t need to come up with something to replace it, I just need to focus on making products completely different from what I already have.

So many people have reasons of their own for liking my lotion blend. Skin nourishing, skin irritations, itchy patches are better. Some have discontinued the need for the use of their steroid creams since discovering my ‘boosted’ blend. It has instantly eased the nail bed burning feeling from a possible shellac reaction, hours before a friends wedding, cuts due to cold weather and using heaters. And that gross trial I did to get rid of dragon scale heels without the use of a pumice stone or anything other that the lotion and putting on a sock.

As For my lip blend…it is light, doesn’t cake up on the lips making you want to scrape it off with your teeth. It makes your lips moist feeling, and my favorite is the love I have gotten from kids who use it and no longer get that winter ‘red ring around the lips’ from the constant licking.

So today I am thankful for what I have and what I have done. Today I am happy that holistic medicine found me. And I feel blessed that the magic I had hiding inside of me has a place and the ability to help others. I believe I may be missing some of the experience as I don’t have the ailments that benefit from my products, and I only experience base benefits…but that too is a blessing I need to embrace .

Author: holisticdeb

Holistic Health, what does it mean? How hard is it to do? Does it cost a lot of money? To me, it means taking responsibility for your life and working towards balance. It can be hard, as hard as you make it. Everything costs money, how much is up to you. Sometimes the only cost is time. My dream is to teach how to balance life by encompassing varied areas of holistic health and bring the magic of alternative therapies to others.

Leave a Reply

