The Everyday Holistic

Balance the Mind, Body, and Spirit

SAD IS NO FUN 😢

Leave a comment

It has been about 19 years since I developed SAD, Seasonal Affective Disorder. It has been about 12 years since I figured it out. And 5 years since I started trying to suppress it using holistic and alternative methods.

Those  that experience this know what I am talking about. It can beat you down as if it was PTSD. I think it is very similar as mine stems from culture shock of relocation from south Texas to northern Michigan at the start of a horrible winter. To top it off, I had a newborn baby and moved away from all family and friends. This was 1995, I had no internet, no job, I was 22 years old, and had no one to talk to.

Now every year as the first cold snap hits, so does depression and the deflation of all my motivation. But in 2007, I began studying Holistic Medicine. Most people look to it for something they can take, a magic bullet to heal what ails them. Not having been raised in a holistic way of life at all, I became intrigued with energy medicine; which shocked me completely.  I love how energy medicine strengthens the mind which in turn strengthens the body. I started with Breathwork. No costly supplies and anyone who breathes can do it anywhere at anytime. Then yoga, a little harder and a few necessities. Then essential oils, more costly and can get really costly. And finally, flower essences. Once you invest, you are set.

These are my arsenal. I utilize yoga the least, but I exchange it for regular exercise. I did my dissertation on Bach Flower Essence Therapy and was completely blown away by its effectiveness. Since then I have made further discoveries in using them and their powers.

So when SAD reared it’s ugly little head today as a rainy cold front set in on this first day of November, I finally pulled it together around lunchtime. I got showered and dressed. I used one of my felted lavender and rosemary soaps in the shower which made me feel good. It could be the soap or it could be that I made it. Either way, I’ll take it. But I felt so good I decided it was a good day to make product.

I started with some lip butters with Five Flower Rescue added in a flavor other that “It’s Peachy,” I went with “Just Chillin'” Cucumber Melon. Then some body lotions, cucumber kiwi, some with a pink shimmer, unscented, party cake with gold shimmer, and my “Special Blend” where I add jojoba oil and some essential oils.

Then I got  gift bag idea. So now I sit waiting for the lye to cool, but as I type this…I just got another idea. I am going to need more lye 😉.

I have a couple of Christmas Craft events approaching. Hopefully I earn some $$ to take a class to keep me going through the winter.

Author: holisticdeb

Holistic Health, what does it mean? How hard is it to do? Does it cost a lot of money? To me, it means taking responsibility for your life and working towards balance. It can be hard, as hard as you make it. Everything costs money, how much is up to you. Sometimes the only cost is time. My dream is to teach how to balance life by encompassing varied areas of holistic health and bring the magic of alternative therapies to others.

Leave a Reply

