The Everyday Holistic

Balance the Mind, Body, and Spirit

My Favorite Oils

Leave a comment

I get asked often how come my lip butters are so creamy and why they don’t feel hard and waxy. First, my ratio of oil to wax is high in oil and low in wax. Just enough wax to make a solid, easy to apply product. After all, it’s not about the wax, it’s about the oils and what’s in the oils.

And what is in my oils? Currently, I choose grapeseed oil as a big part of my blend. It is light, easily absorbed by the body, and has a good amount of Vitamin E in it. This is the oil I use to infuse 😉 My go-to’s are chamomile, calendula, and lemon balm.  In literature, these herbs are beneficial to the skin for healing, renewal, and against things prone to the lips like corner cracking and sores.

As a booster to my oils, I add a splash of Vitamin E oil (d-alpha tocopherol) and I visit the local Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar store and pick up some of their high quality in season olive oil. Once I added a splash of this to my recipe, the creaminess went way up.

I have near future plans of making lip butters using other oils as I am wanting to get out of my box with new items, new herbs, and new oils, but the herbs I have chosen are so perfect for the health of the lips and the skin around it.

Yes, the skin around it. I have a good friend with two little girls and they are the cutest little testimonials. As most children do, they had the ‘red ring’ around their lips all winter long. It would get dry, crusty, and sore at times. For several years now, they have had some of my lip butters and with their ‘skill’ of getting the product around their lips as well as on their lips…the red ring disappeared. Additionally as this blend is not stiff and waxy, they do not grind their teeth across their lips causing trauma or are not constantly licking their lips as they are already moist.

I choose flavor oils over essential oils. As many people can be sensitive to the powers of essential oils and there are contraindications for many oils such as when pregnant, for small children, for those with estrogen dependent cancers and prostate cancers, etc.  Also some oils are phototoxic; therefore, I believe they could be more damaging than beneficial. So, I add flavor oils…and they are delicious!

My latest conquests were the addition of a zinc oxide powder and a line of flower essence lip butters. What’s a flower essence you say? It’s one of my favorite things, and was the topic of my dissertation. I’m sure I’ll address it one day in my blog, you have to keep coming back to find out.

Author: holisticdeb

Holistic Health, what does it mean? How hard is it to do? Does it cost a lot of money? To me, it means taking responsibility for your life and working towards balance. It can be hard, as hard as you make it. Everything costs money, how much is up to you. Sometimes the only cost is time. My dream is to teach how to balance life by encompassing varied areas of holistic health and bring the magic of alternative therapies to others.

Leave a Reply

